Seven seals

Re:Verse reading–Revelation 6 (day one)

There are seven seals on the scroll. And only Jesus is worthy to open them and set in motion the last events.  Lion AND Lamb, Alpha AND Omega, only He has the authority.

There are also (we will see in the next chapters) seven trumpets and seven bowls of wrath to be poured out on a world of rebellious men.  In every case (the seals and the trumpets and the bowls) the seventh involves an earthquake.  See 8:5, 11:19, 16:18.  Are these three separate and successive events?  (Some say yes)  Are they different symbols for one reality (the progressive and terrible judgement of God)?  (Others put their confidence here)

Whatever else we conclude, these are frightful symbols and warnings.  “But because of your stubbornness and the unrepentant heart you are storing up wrath for yourself in the day of wrath and revelation of God’s righteous judgement.”–Romans 2:5

Please, Lord, use your word to prepare your people.


Author: Don Guthrie

Don Guthrie is the Senior Pastor at FBCSA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *